A-Z Challenge – Animals

Hiya folks! I’m bringing you a new challenge today, this one runs on Instagram and is called #atozchallenge. It’s running for a year, with a new prompt every two weeks. I really like these longer challenges, gives me more time to plan and get stuff done!

Anyway, the first prompt is animals. Usually I’d go for cats. I decided to push myself a bit this time, though I’ve still ended up feline. Big feline.

“Tyger, tyger, burning bright,

Watch out! You’ll set the jungle alight!”

Apologies to William Blake, original version here.

A to Z challenge - Animals - gradient and stamped tiger nail art
A to Z challenge – Animals – gradient and stamped tiger nail art

What I used:

A to Z challenge - Animals - gradient and stamped tiger nail art
A to Z challenge – Animals – gradient and stamped tiger nail art

I started out by making tiger face decals. I use NYC Grand Central Station as a base for decals, simply because it’s cheap! I found a few bottles in Poundland in 3packs so I have plenty 🙂

I painted the clear polish on my ubermat, then once it was dry, I stamped on the tiger faces. The images on BM-S151 are way too big for my nails, so I used my squishy creative shop stamper to shrink the image to a more usable size. I then left them to dry for a few hours.

A to Z challenge - Animals - gradient and stamped tiger nail art
A to Z challenge – Animals – gradient and stamped tiger nail art

Later that day (I feel like I’m writing a novel here!) I painted my nails with two coats of Cotton, then sponged on a gradient with the oranges. I peeled the best two decals off the ubermat (I always make extra because I’m great as messing things up!), turned one of them over so I could make a full face, then painted the eyes yellow with Bahamas Punch. I trimmed off most of the excess and applied them to my middle & ring nails. The tiger stripes on the rest of my nails were stamped from an image off an old Cheeky stamping plate. A coat of Glisten & Glow finished everything off (and smeared some of my stripes. Sigh.)

A to Z challenge - Animals - gradient and stamped tiger nail art
A to Z challenge – Animals – gradient and stamped tiger nail art

I really enjoyed doing these nails! They felt like something different – it’s so easy to get stuck in a bit of a rut nail art wise. I usually go for patterns or abstract, so doing art that had to represent an actual tiger was definitely a challenge!

If you’d like to see the challenge college, or any of the other animal art, or even join in yourself, head to Instagram and search for #atozchallenge. 

See you soon!

Love,

Jo x

6 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – Animals

  1. Love the look of these! I think putting them on an ombre and stamping the face over two nails is really effective! (I HATE it when the top coat smudges your work, it’s so depressing after all the work, so I feel your pain!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

