Marie Claire freebie – Ciate The Glossip

Hiya! The UK edition of Marie Claire magazine has a polish freebie this month – a full size bottle of Ciate worth £9. (Does anyone actually buy full-price Ciate? Or Nails Inc? I just pick them up from TK Maxx…) There are four shades to choose from – I wanted the burgundy but I couldn’t find it in any of my local supermarkets, so I settled for my second choice, a bright orangey coral called The Glossip.

Ciate The Glossip - Free with Marie Claire
Ciate The Glossip – Free with Marie Claire

Ciate bottles are a pain to pose with!

The Glossip is a sheer-ish creme, after two coats I could still see VNL (plus a tiny dark stain on my thumbnail that I can’t get rid of) but a third seemed to make it reasonably opaque.

I’m actually wearing two thin coats of a Sensationail gel base coat, as I’ve got a nasty split on my right index nail that I’m hoping I can make last another week. I’m flying out to Iceland on Friday and I don’t want nubs! I’ve never used regular polish over gel before, so I don’t know if it effects anything, but I did find that The Glossip dried to an incredible shine. Adding regular topcoat has actually dulled it! The finish is also super smooth. I’m tempted to use gel undies for ever!

Ciate The Glossip - Free with Marie Claire
Ciate The Glossip – Free with Marie Claire

I stamped over it using Pueen 46 plate, first with Barry M Gold Foil, then with MoYou London White Knight.

Ciate The Glossip - Free with Marie Claire
Ciate The Glossip – Free with Marie Claire

The run up to Christmas (sorry, I said the C word) is usually full of decent magazine freebies, often polishes, so I’ll be keeping an eye on the magazine racks. Did you pick up one of the Ciate freebies? Which one did you choose?

Love,

Jo x

3 thoughts on “Marie Claire freebie – Ciate The Glossip

  1. Pueen 46! I love Pueen’s Love Elements set.

    Too bad about the split nail. I hope it’ll be OK!

    I’ve never bought Ciaté or Nails Inc for full price. The majority of my Nails Inc polishes were glossy mag freebies. The remaining Nails Inc polishes came from a 2013 nail polish Christmas calendar which I snapped up for £20 in the clearance section. Not too bad for 12 full size Nails Inc polishes. 😉

    The only Ciaté polishes I buy are the minis, I buy their annual Christmas polish calendar as soon as it goes on sale after Christmas. That’s usually 23 mini polishes and 1 full size polish for £20. And yes, posing with a Ciaté bottle is almost like… Mission Impossible!

    Like

    1. Oh I forgot about the ciate advents, my boyfriend bought me one a couple of years ago so I have a heap of minis from that. A few of them have dried out though 😦

      I’ve had a couple of really good deals direct from the Nails Inc website. At the end of a season they have clearouts and I’ve bought packs of 12 or 15 full size bottles for around £18. They sell fast though!

      The split is holding up, it survived a days travelling yesterday hauling round suitcase and rucksack so I’m hopeful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

