MeeBox June – Splash!

Hi folks! Today I finally have my review of my very first MeeBox for you. I’ve been watching MeeBox and NailBox since they both launched around a year ago. NailBox seems to have floundered a bit recently, but MeeBox is still going strong, so when I decided to try one out, there was no contest. The June MeeBox was an indie special, themed on the 80’s mermaid movie Splash. I’m old enough to have watched it when it first came out! MeeBox teased the name of the indie producer, saying it was a maker known for the mythical and ethereal. That can only be A England!

Warning – long post ahead…

MeeBox June 16 - Splash!
MeeBox June 16 – Splash!

So what was in the box?

  • A England Whispering Waves
  • A England The Blessed Damozel 
  • A England Gloriana
  • She Sells Seashells shell & starfish charms
  • Mermaid Scale vinyls from Nail-Mail.co.uk
  • Mini Mani Moo Mess No More liquid tape

Plus a 20% discount code for A England and 10% off Nail-Mail.co.uk.

Let’s start with the polishes. I’ve got a few A England polishes already, and they are all amazing formulas, perfect in a maximum of two coats. Theses were no different! A England polishes retail at £11 each including postage, which is quite pricey, however there are often deals where you can buy three or four for a significant discount. And there is also the Gem of the Month, which is £7 all month, all available from the A England website.

A England Whispering Waves 

A England Whispering Waves - MeeBox June 16
A England Whispering Waves – MeeBox June 16

Whispering Waves is a beautiful teal that leans blue or green depending on the light. It also has a slight magenta shimmer, and a scattering of linear holo. It really is a stunning polish! Shown here at two coats, no topcoat.

A England Whispering Waves - MeeBox June 16
A England Whispering Waves – MeeBox June 16

As beautiful as Whispering Waves is, I have to warn you that it is also a terrible stainer. I wore it for maybe twenty minutes swatching and taking photos, and my nails were stained bright teal afterwards. So make sure you wear a good base coat!

A England The Blessed Damozel

A England The Blessed Damozel - MeeBox June 16
A England The Blessed Damozel – MeeBox June 16

The Blessed Damozel is a rich purple satin that I have almost bought several times, so I was very happy to see it in this box! My camera cannot cope with purples like this, and always pulls them more blue than they should be. Again, two coats, no topcoat.

A England The Blessed Damozel - MeeBox June 16
A England The Blessed Damozel – MeeBox June 16

I’m an absolute sucker for a good purple, and this is an amazingly good purple! I think this would be a one coater on shorter nails. It reminds me of the colour of Cadbury Dairy Milk wrappers ! It does dry to a satiny finish rather than glossy.

A England Gloriana 

A England Gloriana - MeeBox June 16
A England Gloriana – MeeBox June 16

Gloriana is a flame red metallic full of golden flakes which makes the whole thing shimmer and glow beautifully. Again, perfect in two coats, no topcoat.

A England Gloriana - MeeBox June 16
A England Gloriana – MeeBox June 16

I already own Gloriana, so I was disappointed to find it in this box. Not MeeBox’s fault though, dupes are going to happen with boxes like this, just wish it hadn’t happened with my first box! The new bottle will go into my destash pile (which one day I will get round to actually destashing). Another beautiful polish, although a touch more on the orange side than I like. It feels like it should be worn in December rather than July! (Trying to avoid the C word there, it’s way too early in the year yet)

She Sells Seashells starfish & shell charms

She Sells Seashells charms
She Sells Seashells charms

She Sells Seashells is a great website selling all kind of nail art bits and pieces – I’ve ordered from them many times, buying decals, vinyls, foils and other fun stuff. I’ve not tried their 3d charms before though, and I’m impressed by these. I used the shell charms in this mani – I found them easy to stick on (dab of topcoat) and they cleaned up so can be reused again. These sell for £1.50 per packet of 10 charms.

Mermaid Scale vinyls from Nail-Mail.co.uk

Mermaid Scale vinyls from Nail-Mail.co.uk - MeeBox June 16
Mermaid Scale vinyls from Nail-Mail.co.uk – MeeBox June 16

Nail-Mail.co.uk is a new website to me, but it’s always good to find new sources of nail art tat! I haven’t tried these vinyls yet, but they look good quality and they come with a sheet of instructions. There are 18 vinyls on the sheet, plenty for lots of accent nails! These sell for £5.95, though smaller sheets are also available.

Mini Mani Moo Mess No More liquid tape

Mini Mani Moo Mess No More liquid tape - MeeBox June 16
Mini Mani Moo Mess No More liquid tape – MeeBox June 16

So this is basically liquid latex, with a pretty gem studded doe foot applicator.  Oh, and it smells of coconut which is nice! I will use this, but I’m happy with my cheap bog-standard liquid latex so doubt I would ever repurchase this, unless it’s absolutely amazing. We shall see! The packaging suggests it can also be used as a peel-off base coat, which would be handy for glitterbombs. This retails at $13.50 with free worldwide shipping from Mini Mani Moo’s website.

Overall – I’m happy with the box! Obviously a dupe isn’t great but I think I’ll be able to sell it reasonably easily. The charms and vinyls are things I would use, and the liquid tape will be useful too.

MeeBox have a rolling subscription plan at £20 per month, and you can skip months if you are short of cash or don’t like the announced theme. You have to be quick once the theme is announced, you only get a couple of days to cancel before payment is taken. You can also sign up for a 3-month plan, which makes each box cheaper. The next theme is Rio!

I’m hoping to do a MeeBox theme nail art soon. I really want to use those vinyls!

See you soon,

Love,

Jo x

2 thoughts on “MeeBox June – Splash!

Leave a Reply

