#clairestelle8june challenge – Squares

Hi! I thought I’d dip my toes back into monthly challenges again – it’s such a good way to get inspiration for nail art. As usual, I’ve gone for the #clairestelle8challenge – she always has interesting prompts, and her nails are always amazing! The first prompt this month is squares. Last time I did nail tape squares which was frustrating to say the least. This time I’ve gone back to stamping.

image
#clairestelle8june challenge - Squares

What I used:

Barry M Molten Metal in Gold Digger, Bronze Bae and Copper Mine
MoYou London Black Knight
HK Girl Glisten & Glow
Liquid latex
Make-up sponge
Clear stamper
Pueen stamping plate Pueen48

image
Gradient of Barry M Molten Metal Gold Digger, Bronze Bae and Copper Mine

I started out with a gradient of Gold Digger, Bronze Bae and Copper Mine, which I liked so much I stopped to take photos! These Molten Metals blend together really well. (Don’t bother trying to watermarble with them though, they don’t spread at all. I tried.) Cleanup was a nightmare though, the glitter bits get everywhere!

image
#clairestelle8june challenge - Squares

Next I stamped on the gradient of squares from Pueen48. My stamping sucked big time. I blame my bottle of Black Knight which is almost run out, and is pretty thick and gloopy. I do have a new bottle, just got the wrong one out.

image
#clairestelle8june challenge - Squares

This is one of those manis that everything that can go wrong, does. I’d bought a new bag of sponges for gradients a week or so ago – couldn’t find them anywhere. I did manage to find a sponge at the back of a drawer but it’s quite a firm foam so it wasn’t as good for sponging. Them I dropped it polish side down on my T-shirt. (Primarni thankfully, so if I can’t salvage it, no great loss). Then I used the old stamping polish… I’m glad it’s done now!

If you’d like to see other entries to the challenge, search for #clairestelle8june on Instagram, and why not follow me while you’re there! I’m @thepolishedmagpie – the Instagram widget on the right will take you there.

See you soon!

Love,
Jo x

Leave a Reply

