Spring Fling Indie Box

Hello! Recently, three of our lovely UK indies announced that they were getting together to produce a polish box for their fans. When I saw the preview pics, I was smitten, so I pre-ordered and here it is! Warning, this will be a pic heavy post.

image
Spring Fling Indie Box

From l-r we have ‘Ard As Nails Blushed, Luna Loves Mariposa, and Danglefoot Polish Moonriver. The jar is cuticle butter from Soap Dodger, plus a little bag of heart shaped mints.

Let’s start with Blushed. Unfortunately my camera has pulled this very red – it is more of a brick colour in real life.

image
'Ard As Nails Blushed

Blushed is a dark coral / brick creme with a linear holo. Photos show two coats plus topcoat. No problems at all with application. I can see slight nail line in the pics but it wasn’t noticeable by eye.

image
'Ard As Nails Blushed
image
'Ard As Nails Blushed

You can just start to see that holo showing up!

Next is Luna Loves Mariposa. Luna Loves is a new brand to me, so I was very interested in what this polish would be like.

image
Luna Loves Mariposa

Mariposa is a dusty lavender with linear holo and some amazing flakies. I really do love this one! Application was easy, and the flakies stayed smooth. It did dry a little dull, but a coat of topcoat soon brought it back to life. This is two coats, plus topcoat.

image
Luna Loves Mariposa
image
Luna Loves Mariposa

Look at the different colours in those flakies! Stunning!

On to Danglefoot Polish Moonriver.

image
Danglefoot Polish Moonriver

Moonriver is a sky blue crelly with holo flakes and a subtle pink shimmer. I used two coats plus topcoat. Two coats looked fine to me whilst I was wearing it, but the photos make it look a little streaky. I think I’d use three coats next time.

image
Danglefoot Polish Moonriver
image
Danglefoot Polish Moonriver

I did find the odd flake in this one wouldn’t lay flat – you can see one on the right side on my nail in the close up. You can just see the pink shimmer in this pic too.

My favourite of the three is definitely Mariposa, but I’m always a sucker for purples!

The cuticle butter is called Hand Love from Soap Dodger, which is the same person behind ‘Ard As Nails. The fragrance is called Kelleher’s Karma and is absolutely divine! It’s quite subtle, but lingers a long time. The butter itself is very good, it is a solid block that melts slightly from the heat in your fingertips. A gentle swipe over the surface picks up plenty of product for one fingernail.

image
Soap Dodger Hand Love Butter

I found that it takes a few minutes for my cuticles to absorb the butter, so it’s not quite a use & go product. However, it does absorb, and doesn’t just sit on my skin like Lemony Flutter tends to do! The instructions suggest using it last thing before bed so it can absorb overnight. I’ve been using it several times a day for four or five days now and the problem calluses I have on my right hand sidewalls are definitely softening. The jar is 50g, and I haven’t even made a dent in it so it will last a very long time.

This box cost £25, and I believe is going to be a quarterly thing. I am really looking forward to seeing the summer one!

Follow Hayley (Danglefoot), Elaine (Luna Loves) and Kat (‘Ard As Nails & Soap Dodger) on Instagram for news of when the summer box will be released. Plus of course chance to see all their pretty polishes!

Danglefoot Nail Polish – Etsy –  InstagramFacebook.

Luna Loves Lacquer – EtsyInstagram.

‘Ard As Nails – Store –  InstagramFacebook.

Soap Dodger – Store –  InstagramFacebook.

See you soon!

Love,
Jo x

Leave a Reply

