HPB Presents – My 1st Indie Polish

Hello! It’s time for this month’s Hobby Polish Bloggers link up. Hobby Polish Bloggers is a very friendly Facebook group dedicated to supporting the behind-the-scene bits of blogging – if you have a question about lighting setups, blog layouts, blogging platforms, dealing with manufacturers etc, it is the perfect place to ask! Once a month we have a theme to write about – at the end of this post is a link to other members of the group so you can go and explore.

This month’s theme is my 1st indie polish. I’m a huge fan of Indies, I love the creativity and innovation, plus I’m all for supporting small independent businesses! There are a couple of downsides – occasionally customer support can be lacking (though mostly it’s been amazing) and non-uk brands can be hard to get hold of. And let’s not mention the whole Mentality saga. Overall though, I’d rather buy indie!

So on to my first indie polish. I actually have six contenders for this title!

The first ever indie polish that I decided to buy was from UK based Freckles Polish – I’ll Need Wine. It is a beautiful wine coloured creme with a scattered holo, and to this day I still adore it. In fact I have since ordered a backup bottle! Swatch is 2 coats.

image
Freckles Polish I'll Need Wine

In the same order I also purchased Kicking Up Leaves, a pretty coppery-bronze creme with the same scattered holo. Both of them stamp really nicely too, bonus! You can read my review of them both here. Swatch is 2 coats.

image
Freckles Polish Kicking Up Leaves

In between placing my order and actually receiving it though, I went to a car boot sale where I found someone selling off their polish stash at 3 bottles for £1. I didn’t have a lot of time to look as I was being dragged off by hungry friends, otherwise I’m sure I could have spent a fortune! I did pick up six bottles though, and four of those were indies. So they are the first indies that I physically possessed.

First up is Shades Of Pheonix Bad Kitty. Shades Of Pheonix is an Australian indie, and this polish was produced for one of the many indie subscription boxes. It’s a clear base packed with various emerald green glitters, and is very pretty even if I’m not a huge fan of green! I paired it with black in this look. Swatch is 2 coats.

image
Shades Of Pheonix Bad Kitty

The final three polishes are all from US indie maker Dollish Polish, all from the Ultimate Fandom pt1 range. Love Me Some Pie (inspired by Supernatural) is a raspberry jelly with small red, black and holo glitters, and it reminds me of strawberry jam! It’s quite sheer, the swatch shows 3 coats. More photos of it here.

image
Dollish Polish Love Me Some Pie

Live Long and Prosper (inspired by Star Trek) is a cornflower blue crelly, with various blue and gold glitters and the odd star. I’ve used it a couple of times in nail art, here and here. It is fairly sheer, the swatch is 3 coats.

image
Dollish Polish Live Long And Prosper

Finally we have The Deathly Hallows (inspired by Harry Potter) which is a clear base filled with silver donut, bar and triangle glitters and silver shimmer. I haven’t used this one, as even the swatch stick took some fishing to get the glitters out! Swatch is 2 coats.

image
Dollish Polish The Deathly Hallows

So there you have it, my 1st (six) indie polishes. If you’d like to see what other members of the HPB group have written about, please click the button below and pick a link!

Freckles Polish – EtsyTwitter –  InstagramFacebook.
Dollish Polish – StoreTwitter –  InstagramFacebook.
Shades Of Pheonix – StoreTwitter –  InstagramFacebook.

See you soon,

Love,
Jo x

3 thoughts on “HPB Presents – My 1st Indie Polish

Leave a Reply

