Spa Ritual Pioneer

Spa Ritual Pioneer

Hi guys! Today I have a swatch of a new-to-me brand, Pioneer from Spa Ritual. Spa Ritual polishes are popping up in TK Maxx lately, I’ve picked up a couple and this is the first that I’ve tried out. It is from their Quest collection from summer 2014.

Spa Ritual Pioneer
Spa Ritual Pioneer

So Pioneer is a pale pink base filled with multi-coloured glitters, and larger white circles. You have to fish a bit for the circles, and actually I prefer the look without them. Photos show three coats plus a coat of HK Girl Glisten & Glow topcoat.

Spa Ritual Pioneer
Spa Ritual Pioneer

The Spa Ritual bottles all have rubber brush handles, which are really nice to hold. Their polishes are vegan and 5-free – “We formulate our body care products with vegan ingredients from around the world, including many specially sourced and selected plant essences that are Certified Organic and Fair Trade. Our nail lacquers and nail care essentials are vegan and formulated without DBP, toulene, formaldehyde and formaldehyde resin.” – from the Spa Ritual website.

Spa Ritual Pioneer
Spa Ritual Pioneer

I kept this on for a couple of days, and I still can’t decide if I like it or not. I love the mix of colours, but the overall effect is a little flat. There’s none of the squishyness you would get from a jelly (or even a crelly) and the glitters don’t seem to catch the light like I would expect them to. I think the base is also a bit too close to my skintone for my personal preferences – I’m not a nude polish kinda gal. It is quite pretty though, and I wish I had tried it mattified.

Pioneer is still available on the Spa Ritual website, or you might get lucky and find it in TK Maxx like I did.

See you soon,

Love Jo x

Leave a Reply

