#clairestelle8may challenge - kaleidoscope

#clairestelle8may challenge – Kaleidoscope

Hello my lovelies! I’m so late blogging these nails, the challenge ended on saturday and it’s now tuesday! I did get them up on Instagram on time though. My tablet, which I usually use for photo editing and blogging has died, so I’ve had to pull out my crusty old laptop, wade through several Windows updates, try to find passwords etc etc.. I’m up and running again but I really miss my tablet!

The final prompt for the #clairestelle8may challenge was kaleidoscope, which made me go eeeek! Once I’d calmed down, I came up with a plan, which involved trying a new technique so that’s always good πŸ™‚ Here are my kaleidoscope nails, I’ll describe them after the jump.

#clairestelle8may challenge - kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – kaleidoscope

I found a Pueen stamping plate that had a circular image that could qualify as kaleidoscope, so I stamped it using MoYou London Black Knight. I left the image on the stamper to dry.

#clairestelle8may challenge - kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – kaleidoscope

Once it had dried out, I dotted various nail polishes onto the stamper, trying to keep the symmetric effect of a kaleidoscope.

#clairestelle8may challenge - kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – kaleidoscope

I gave it a coat of top coat, and left to dry. Several hours later, I peeled it gently off the stamper, and it was ready for use.

#clairestelle8may challenge - kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge - kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – kaleidoscope

Once I’d painted my nails with two coats of Rimmel Black Out, and two coats of Barry M Gelly Coconut on my ring finger, I put the decal over the still tacky polish. I used a clean-up brushΒ and acetone to neaten up the edges,then gave it a final coat of topcoat which smooths everything out. The neon studs were also attached with topcoat. The studs came from an Etsy store called The Nail Arcade, which doesn’t seem to be selling anything at the moment.

#clairestelle8may challenge - Kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – Kaleidoscope

I’m not sure I like these, I think I went overboard with the studs. It was fun making the decal though, I will definitely try that again!

#clairestelle8may challenge - Kaleidoscope
#clairestelle8may challenge – Kaleidoscope

Not a bad way to end the challenge, and yay! my first fully completed challenge. I’m feeling quite proud of myself. Clair has announced a June challenge, which I am going to have a go at.

See you soon!

Love, Jo

Leave a Reply

