#clairestelle8may challenge – Gradient

We’re on to the final stretch of the #clairestelle8may challenge now, only two prompts left after this one! Today’s prompt is Gradient, which is one of my least favoured techniques because it’s so damn messy and I still suck at clean up!

This is actually attempt 3 at this prompt, no1 was just a horrible disaster, no2 turned into a green gungy mess, and then this one ended up not bad at all. Totally inspired by a picture @twi_star posted recently, I just loved the look and set out to recreate it.

image

I started out with two coats of Revlon Colorstay Passionate Pink, which is a gorgeous hot pink crème. It is a shade or two darker than the photos show – bright pinks make my camera have fits! I then painted round my ring & little fingernails with Rainbow Connection Zap!, a latex cuticle shield to try and make clean up a bit easier. I sponged on Passionate Pink and Amethyst (another Revlon Colorstay) to make the gradient. I love the Revlon Colorstay range, not had a bad one yet. I pick them all up from poundshops.

image

I tried to clean up the best I could, but that pink is stubborn!

image

Once everything was dry, I stamped over the gradient with MoYou London Black Knight and one of the Pueen plates that arrived this morning. I love nail mail! I’m still getting gaps in my lines, must keep practising!

image

The studs were attached with a blob of HK Girl Glisten & Glow, then everything was topcoated to seal in place. I smudged the stamping on my ring finger when I topcoated 😭😭 It doesn’t look anywhere near as bad in real life though.

Smudging aside, I really like this mani! It’s bright, colourful, looks reasonably professional and I’m happy to wear it for the next day or two 😸

Have a look at all the great challenge manis by searching #clairestelle8may on Instagram. And follow me, I’m @thepolishedmagpie!

Till next time,
Love Jo x

Leave a Reply

