52 Week Challenge week 3 – Texture

Week 3 of the 52 week Pick n Mix challenge, and the prompts are 60s or texture/matte. I drew a blank on 60s, so texture it is! I’d bought a couple of Barry M texture polishes recently that I hadn’t got round to trying, so this seemed a good opportunity. I also decided to try a tape mani, which didn’t go as planned.  Oh well.. Here’s the finished result:

image

More after the jump!

First of all, meet the polishes. Barry M ‘Countess’ and ‘Majesty’.

image

I was expecting Countess to be a brown colour, but it dries more purple. I started by painting each nail with ‘Majesty’, except my ring finger which had a coat of ‘Countess’. So far, so good, application was easy. Once it was completely dry, I taped an X shape on each nail. I’m sure most of you are seeing the obvious problem here.. tape doesn’t stick to a bumpy surface! Why didn’t I think of that? I managed to get it to stick enough on a couple of fingers, and painted over with the opposite colour, then took the tape off before the polish dried.

image

Well, it sort of worked. Overall though, not a mani I’m impressed with, and not one that I’ll be wearing for long! My striping tape was too narrow for the design I wanted, I should have used a plain undie coat, and to top it off, I’m not keen on the feel of my nails. They feel gritty, and quite rough at the tips. I think maybe I’d use a texture polish as a little accent in future, but not a full mani like here. I bet it’s gonna be a bugger to remove too! (edit: it wasn’t as bad as I expected)

image

Hopefully next week will go better!

Love,
Jo x

Check out what the rest of the Nail Tarts have done for this week:

image

Leave a Reply

