Crumpet’s Nail Tarts 52 week challenge week 1 – Teal / 2 colour gradient

image

I’m a novice at nail art. I stare in awe at some of the creations that show up on my FB feed, and wonder if I’ll ever be able to come up with anything approaching that level. The best way to learn is to practice (at least, that’s what I keep telling my students!) so I figured joining a challenge would make me learn and use some new techniques.

I joined Crumpet’s Nail Tarts group, who have just started a new 52 week pix n mix challenge. It seems pretty relaxed, one mani a week from one of two prompts. I can do that! (I hope 😉

This week we can choose either teal or go for a 2 colour gradient. I wanted to do a gradient as I’ve never tried one before. Things got messy. I may need to restock on cotton pads and nail polish remover..

The finished result (attempt 3 or 4, I lost count):

image

I used a teal colour from Collection called ‘Bongo Beat’, and paired it with an old blue Rimmel ‘Fuel’. ‘Fuel’ was thick and gloopy and probably the worst consistency polish I could have chosen but hey-ho.

image

I’m reasonably pleased with how it eventually turned out. Definitely needs more practice but I’m looking forward to trying different colour combos.

image

The ‘Bongo Beat’ has a nice shimmer running through it.

image

One last bottle shot:

image

That was fun! Can’t wait for next weeks challenge!

Love,
Jo x

image

Check out what the rest of the Nail Tarts have been doing:

Leave a Reply

